Foundation stage

Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage pupils at Heathfield are Pre-School and Reception age.

Pupils from 3 to 5 years old attend the Ofsted-registered Foundation Stage Unit at Heathfield where each child’s individual needs and learning requirements are provided for. This approach lies at the heart of the Early Years Foundation Stage.

The unit is set in picturesque grounds and includes a secure grassy play area and a garden patio. Inside the unit there is a quiet room, wet room, interactive whiteboard and computer access and plenty of space for young children to develop. Foundation stage

In Heathfield’s newly-refurbished unit, children work side by side on the six learning areas of the curriculum:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional development
  2. Communication, Language and Literacy
  3. Problem solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  4. Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  5. Physical development
  6. Creative development

Because children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, staff constantly monitor and assess each child’s progress, moving children on and ensuring that no child gets left behind

previous   next